2. Referencing Guide: Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is an organised list of sources in bibliographic format such as books, journal articles, newspapers, web sites or web pages, etc. with a description of each item.

The description that follows the citation is usually about 150 words that inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy and quality of the sources cited. The part is called the annotation.

An annotated bibliography provides a review of a range of information on a particular subject. It illustrates the quality of your research and provides examples of a variety of sources.

Annotations may consist of all or part of the following:

• Content (focus) of the item
• Usefulness of the item
• Limitations of the item, eg level of difficulty, currency
• Intended audience
• Reliability of item
• Author’s background
• Conclusions the author may have made
• Your reaction to the item

Creating an annotated bibliography requires application of a variety of intellectual skills that include analysis and  informed research.

1. First, locate and record citations that may contain useful information on your topic.
2. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Cite source using appropriate style (as shown in this guide).
3. Write a concise annotation that summarises the central theme and scope of the item.
4. Include one or more sentences that evaluate the authority or background of the author, comment on the intended audience, compare or contrast this item with others you have cited or explain how this item is appropriate to your topic.

Abstracts are purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of journal articles or in some periodical indices or databases. Annotations are descriptive and critical, they expose the author’s point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression and authority.

Sterling, L.A. 2010, 'Individual and society in The Scarlet Letter', Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature, 3-Volume. Bloom's Literature, Infobase Online, viewed April 8, 2020, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=18841&itemid=WE54&articleId=38860

In this article Sterling discusses The Scarlet Letter's exploration of the relationship between the individual and society. The author uses substantial quotes from the novel to provide evidence for his point of view. The article was written by author Laurie A. Sterling and was published in volume 3 of the Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature. This Encyclopedia was edited by Yale professor Howard Bloom, ensuring it's reliability as an accurate source. This article is useful to my topic as it reinforces my point that when Hester returns to Boston and takes up the scarlet "A" of her own accord she affirms society's role in shaping an individual's identity. The main limitation of this article is that it focuses heavily on Hester and I would have liked it to explore the relationship between the individual and society in other characters such as Dimmesdale.This article will not form the basis of my discussion, however, it will be useful supplementary information.