Task Type: Seminar
Length: 7 minutes(seminar) 1000 words (Transcript) (not including film excerpts 5-minute maximum) Transcript and supporting media due before presentation.
Instructions regarding the nature of the task:
This seminar is self-directed. Individually choose TWO forms of Pop Culture from radio, tabloid, online newspaper and film, which highlights your focus and present a seminar which examines, in detail, ONE of the following: *please note: no student can do the same question
1. Has Popular Culture become anti-religious or has religion become anti-media?
2. Is Popular Culture the new religion?
3. Does Popular Culture have a moral responsibility in promoting human dignity, truth and freedom
4. How effectively does Popular Culture communicate religious understanding?
5. Has Popular Culture become the new confessional?
6. Has Popular Culture taken over from religion as custodians of modern culture?
7. Is Popular Culture the source that teaches how society works and what it means?
8. Has Popular Culture created its own religious language and rituals through its interpretation of all things religious?
9. Has Popular Culture become the creator of religious themes with no connection to organized religion?
10. Is religion and Popular Culture becoming one and the same thing in our society?
11. Can we develop a religious perspective on world issues from what we see and hear through Popular Culture?
12. Does Popular Culture control religion or does religion control the media?
13. Are Memes the new theology of life?
14. The Gospel values according to Popular Culture. Do they exist?
You must support your presentation with a minimum of TWO Church documents (e.g. Papal Encyclicals, Catechism of the Catholic Church, Youth Catechism, etc). You should include visual examples from your chosen Popular Culture forms and topic. Combined film excerpts must not exceed 5 minutes in total.
Transcript should be submitted on the due date, prior to your presentation. It should include in-text referencing and your reference list.
Databases can help you find academic sources on a variety of topics, but sometimes it can be tricky to know how to use them effectively. Some popular databases used by St Clare's Students are:
Always start with an 'Advanced Search' and tick 'Full Text.'
Use the following tips to help you effectively search the databases below to find the information you need:
Operation |
Example |
Explanation |
|
"" |
"Popular Culture" |
Quotation marks are used when you are searching for a specific word combination or an exact phrase. In Boolean search, use quotation marks whenever your keyword consists of more than a single word. |
| AND | Media AND Religion | AND combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, media AND religion finds articles that contain both media and religion. You can use AND more than once when searching databases. |
| OR | Religion AND "Popular Culture" OR "Pop Culture" | OR means you are searching for documents that contain either keyword (either the words popular culture or the words pop culture, or both). Use it for words with similar meanings. |
| NOT | Religion AND Media NOT Social | NOT excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, Religion AND Media NOT Social finds results that contain information on Religion AND Media but excludes articles where Social is mentioned, thus excluding Social Media. |
| * | religio* |
Truncation, also called stemming, is a technique that broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings. To use truncation, enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end. The database will return results that include any ending of that root word. Eg. religio* will bring results including religion and religious |
When researching a topic for assignments, academic sources are preferred over other types of sources. They carry more weight and authority, and are likely to be more convincing.
Academic sources are:
Types of Academic Sources include:
Use the databases in the right hand column of this guide to find academic sources on your chosen topic.
Use the search bar to search for your topic and use the column on the left hand side to refine your results. You can narrow your results by publication date, type of resource (academic journal/newspaper/magazine), etc. Always tick 'full text' to ensure you get full articles, not just abstracts.
Use your National Library membership to access the online collection of eBooks and journal articles. Use the database search tips to use correct search terms and refine your results.
You will need to be a National Library of Australia member to access the eResources. If you don't have a card, click on the link below...
ResearchGate is the professional network for scientists and researchers. Over 20 million members from all over the world use it to share, discover, and discuss research. Many research papers on ResearchGate have PDFs freely available. Use the search bar to search a topic, or use the link provided below as a starting point.
