You are an expert specialising in religious narratives & texts and have been asked to deliver a presentation to St. Clare’s College addressing the following question:
‘How might religious narratives make the world a better place?’
For your presentation you will discuss the religious narratives from two world religions and explain why they can be utilised to help solve the global issues that face our world today (choose one; see list below). You may choose from a range of applications & styles to create your video presentation, however you must let your teacher know of your final choice at least two weeks prior to the date of submission.
A reference list is required for the task.
List of Global Issues for Task:
Databases can help you find academic sources on a variety of topics, but sometimes it can be tricky to know how to use them effectively. Some popular databases used by St Clare's Students are:
ANZRC (available on the Portal)
National Library of Australia eResources (Link below)
Always start with an 'Advanced Search' and tick 'Full Text.'
Use the tips below to help you:
Operation |
Example |
Explanation |
|
"" |
"Human Rights" |
Quotation marks are used when you are searching for a specific word combination or an exact phrase. In Boolean search, use quotation marks whenever your keyword consists of more than a single word. |
| AND | Quran AND Refugees | AND combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, cloning AND ethics finds articles that contain both cloning and ethics. You can use AND more than once when searching databases. |
| OR | Quran OR Koran | OR means you are searching for documents that contain either of keywords (either the word adolescence or the word youth, or both). Use it for words with similar meanings. |
| NOT | Torah AND Refugees NOT World War | NOT excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, Torah AND Refugees NOT World War finds results that contain information on the Torah AND Refugees but excludes articles where World War is mentioned. |
| * | religio* |
Truncation, also called stemming, is a technique that broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings. To use truncation, enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end. The database will return results that include any ending of that root word. Eg. religio* will bring results including religion and religious
|
You can also use a combination of operations in your database search to help you find exactly what you are after, eg Torah AND Refugees NOT World War.
Use your National Library membership to access the online collection of eBooks and journal articles. Articles of note include:
You will need to be a National Library of Australia member to access the eResources. If you don't have a card, click on the link below...
Use the search bar to search for your topic and use the column on the left hand side to refine your results. You can narrow your results by publication date, type of resource (academic journal/newspaper/magazine), etc. Always tick 'full text' to ensure you get full articles, not just abstracts.
ResearchGate is the professional network for scientists and researchers. Over 20 million members from all over the world use it to share, discover, and discuss research. Many research papers on ResearchGate have PDFs freely available. Use the search bar to search a topic, or use the link provided below as a starting point.
NRSV is the preferred version of the Bible at St Clare's College (both in print and online)
The print version can be found at 220.520432BIB
The online version can be found below...
When accessing BibleGateway make sure you select the preferred version (New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)) from the drop down menu (shown below) before you search.
A bibliography includes all the sources referred to and read/accessed as part of your research, even if they haven’t been referred to in your work. These sources should be referenced using the St Clare's College Guide and listed in alphabetical order by family/organisation name.
A reference list includes the details of all the cited sources in your text i.e. all of the sources that you have referenced in your work. These sources should be referenced using the St Clare's College Guide and listed in alphabetical order by family/organisation name.
The video above outlines how to upload a video into your student workspace using ClickView in a browser.
The video above shows you how to upload videos into your workspace from the iOs app.
The video above explains how you can use the Android app to easily record and upload your own content to Clickview.
