Students are to write an 800-word essay on the following prompt:
Analyse the role that the beliefs, practices, and rituals of Islam play in helping Muslims respond to the big questions of meaning and purpose.
A List of References is required for this task, rather than a Bibliography. This means that all resources listed must be in-text referenced within the essay. Do not include resources that you have not referred to explicitly.
Islam by
With a growing awareness of the presence of Islamic societies around the world and the varying Islamic religious bodies that play such a key role, Islam has emerged in the forefront of today's religious discussions. Islam, Fifth Edition dispels many of the myths and mysteries surrounding this major world religion, providing readers with an up-to-date understanding of the relationship between religion and politics in today's society.
Encyclopedia of Islam by
Encyclopedia of Islam, Second Edition provides high school and junior college students, as well as laypeople, with everything they need to know about this religion.
In more than 550 A-to-Z entries, this encyclopedic guide explores the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today. An informative introduction provides readers with an overview of Islam. A chronology, a detailed bibliography, and photographs complete this timely resource.
Islamic Faith in America by
As the second-largest world religion, Islam is also one of the fastest-growing religions in the United States. Since the events of September 11, 2001, there has been an increased interest in Islam and a desire for Americans to understand this faith. This book will help students comprehend the basic history and beliefs of this intricate religion.
Islamic Faith in America, Second Edition explores the impact of Muslims on American culture, social issues, and politics and offers a glimpse into the lives of the most important and influential Muslims in this country. Readers will be introduced to the daily lifestyle of Muslims in America, their connections to other Muslims around the world, the influence of Islamic nations on the shape of Muslim life in the United States, and Islam's role in American history.
New and updated coverage includes:
The development and growth of the Nation of Islam movement
The reaction of the American Muslim community to events of September 11, 2001
Muslims in television and film
Crisis in Palestine
Dalia Mogahed
The work of Islamic groups in various social welfare and community-building activities, often in inner cities
The challenge of American Muslims to live as Americans and as Muslims and remain true to both ideals.
Books on World Religions can be found in the Learning Commons in 291.
No God but God: The origins, evolution and future of Islam by 
The New Lion Handbook: The World Religions by 
Introduction to the World's Major Religions: Islam by
Chapters include:
History of Foundation
Texts and Major Tenets
Branches
Practice Worldwide
Rituals and Holidays
Major Figures
