Year 11/12 - Building and Programming Circuits - Technologies Guides

Task Overview

Task type: Prototyping

You are an intern at NASA and need to show your supervisor the plans you have for creating a new circuit for the International Space Station to alert astronauts that they have an incoming message from Ground Control.

The circuit will be created using an Ardunio and associated input and output components.

It must include one LED light that blinks.
You may add sophistication using a sensor that triggers the light e.g. a button or ultrasonic sensor or add extra notification such as a buzzer.
Investigate the International Space Station and current circuitry that exists on the station.
Investigate the issues around creation, supply and maintenance of electronics on the station.

See Assessment Task for further details.

Database- ANZRC

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
This database provides a collection of leading regional and international periodicals, including newspapers, journals and magazines as well as full-text reference books, full-text biographies and a collection of images containing photos, maps and flags.

Access through ANZRC on the Portal.

Search subject headings 'International Space Station', 'Ardunio' and 'Circuit buidling'.

'Refine Results' to select full text and the most recent articles.

Researching, Writing and Presenting Information - A How To Guide

Researching, Writing and Presenting Information - A How To Guide
The 'Researching, Writing and Presenting Information - A How To Guide' provides you with scaffolds and instructions for a range of task types, including essay structure and features. Information on effective search strategies and tools is also provided.

Referencing Guide

St Clare's College Referencing Guide
Use the Referencing Guide to help you write your bibliography. This guide shows you how to reference websites, books, eBooks, databases, videos and lots more.

NASA

Buidling a circuit

Autodesk Instructables- Ardunio Class
This site provides information on building an Ardunio circuit with input and output components.
Spark Fun- Ardunio
This site provides tutorials and resources for ardunio and associated input and output components.

Clickview and Youtube

Take apart the $150 billion International Space Station to uncover the extraordinary innovations that enable it to support life in deadly space.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Ideal for Senior students searching for journal articles and other research literature.