LibGuides: Technologies Guides: Data Science

Database - ANZRC

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
This database provides a collection of leading regional and international periodicals, including newspapers, journals and magazines as well as full-text reference books, full-text biographies and a collection of images containing photos, maps and flags.

Access through ANZRC on the Portal.

Use 'Refine Results' to select full text and the most recent articles.

Australia/New Zealand Points of View This link opens in a new window
Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre covers more than 200 controversial topics in the media, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues and write or debate an effective argument.

#NotMyDebt - The Issue
Identifies the issue of the robo-debt scheme.
Victorian Legal Aid: Robo-debts
This website explains how the robo-debt automated system worked and the case that deemed it unlawful.
Cancer-suffering grandpa 'ripped to shreds': Robo-debt backflip too little, too late
This article from A Current Affair shares the story of a robo-dept victim and the impact it has had on his life.

Melbourne Institute: Impact of Covid-19
This website from Melbourne University includes weekly survey results on the impact of Covid-19 as well as research insights on a range of Covid-19 related topics.
Covid-19 Data: Coronavirus (COVID-19) in Australia
Includes Covid-19 data verified with reports from state and federal health departments. Each chart is timestamped at last update.

See the links below for articles providing examples of societal bias related to Covid-19

Forbes: Big Data-Driven Decision-Making At Domino's Pizza
This article from Forbes discusses how Domino's uses Big Data to derive insights on customers, as well as how it sees analytics as the key to driving change across the industry.
Big Data at Domino’s Pizza
Details Dominoes data collection and how it has helped them dominate the competition. Also includes data breaches that Dominoes have experienced.
The Domino’s effect: New personalised advertising campaign sees tenfold return
This article discusses how Domino's uses technology to ‘outsmart rather than outspend.'

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Ideal for Senior students searching for journal articles and other research literature.

Use your National Library membership to access the online collection of eBooks and journal articles.

If you don't have a card, click on the link below...

Curriculum Guide - Brainstorming and Planning
This guide helps you to get started on the task and shows you how to brainstorm and develop your ideas.
Curriculum Guide - Effective Research
This guide provides reseach tips and shows you how to evaluate your sources to make sure that they are credible.

St Clare's College Referencing Guide: Annotated Bibliography
The Annotated Bibliography Guide details the content and process of writing an annotated bibliography with a sample included.