Skip to Main Content

Technologies Guides: Year 12 - Report: Electronic game play and the global pandemic

Task Overview

Report Question: What impact has the 2020 global pandemic had on electronic game play or production?

Independently research a topic of your choice from the list below and submit your findings in a research report. Your report must include sources, and use the Harvard referencing system.

Database - ANZRC

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
This database provides a collection of leading regional and international periodicals, including newspapers, journals and magazines as well as full-text reference books, full-text biographies and a collection of images containing photos, maps and flags.

Access through ANZRC on the Portal.

Use 'Advanced Search' and the subject headings 'gaming' AND 'Covid-19' OR Coronavirus'

Use 'Refine Results' to select full text and the most recent articles.

Getting Started and Research tips

Curriculum Guide - Brainstorming and Planning
This guide helps you to get started on the task and shows you how to brainstorm and develop your ideas.
Curriculum Guide - Effective Research
This guide provides reseach tips and shows you how to evaluate your sources to make sure that they are credible.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

St Clare's College Referencing Guide: Annotated Bibliography
The Annotated Bibliography Guide details the content and process of writing an annotated bibliography with a sample included.

Topic 1: Online gaming increased during the global pandemic.

The Conversation: Time well spent, not wasted: video games are boosting well-being during the coronavirus lockdown

Topic 2: Issues with production and shipping impacted access to games.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Ideal for Senior students searching for journal articles and other research literature.

National Library eResources

eResources

Use your National Library membership to access the online collection of eBooks and journal articles.

If you don't have a card, click on the link below...

Get a Library Card