Teacher Resource Guide: External Resources

ABC Education brings you thousands of free, curriculum-linked resources for Primary and Secondary students and teachers.

Cool Australia provides teachers with learning activities and resources that make teaching and understanding real world scenarios as easy as possible.

Units, lessons and activities are Australian curriculum aligned and free to educators and students. You can choose to follow full units of study or pick individual lessons to fit in with your curriculum.

Scootle is a national digital learning repository which provides Australian teachers with access to more than 20,000 digital learning items, provided by a wide array of contributors and aligned to core areas of the Australian Curriculum.

Login using your CEnet username and password

The Australian Government has compiled a list (links included) of Government organisations with educational resources. Some examples include the Office of the eSafety Commissioner, the National Archives of Australia, the Australian Human Rights Commission and the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority.

To be eligible for a standard library card you must live in Australia and supply an Australian residential address.

Search the catalogue for collection items held by the National Library of Australia

Search eResources for articles, journals, ebooks, databases including -
JSTOR - A continually expanding multi-disciplinary archive of scholarly material in the social sciences and humanities and the sciences.
ERIC - The ERIC database contains over a million bibliographic citations to a broad collection of education-related resources, from government reports to journal articles.

The Library holds the greatest collection in the world of material relating to Australia and the Australian people. It ranges from the earliest European works about the Great Southern Land to the most current publications.

Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It's more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisations.

The Digital Classroom is aligned to the Australian Curriculum and supports a variety of classroom contexts and learning styles. It adopts an inquiry approach, allowing students to analyse sources, develop skills and draw their own conclusions about the Australian story.

Virtual excursions and other initiatives

Activities, workshops and videos

Explore classroom resources and school programs, all linked to the Australian Curriculum, and inspired by defining moments in Australian history and objects in our collection.

Explore defining moments in Australian history through games, videos, quizzes, images and activities.

Discover where our stories come alive, from the ancient and enduring histories of the world’s oldest living cultures to the making of contemporary Australia.

The Gallery’s extensive range of online and classroom resources support learning outcomes by encouraging creativity and critical thinking.
Developed with curriculum standards in mind, these practical resources aim to provoke curiosity, inspire the imagination and provide students with the skills to respond to works of art.

Resources are clearly linked to the Australian Curriculum

Memorial Boxes are engaging learning resources, filled with real and replica uniforms, equipment, artefacts, and more. They are supported by a range of case studies and activities which are available online

These books are made available to download free of charge for classroom and educational use.

CSIRO Education and Outreach offers a range of resources to support learning, both at home and in the classroom.

CSIRO Educational Datasets have been created using data that is available on the CSIRO Data Access Portal. Each dataset has a linked teacher guide and comes in three different levels, Novice, Expert and Programmer.

Resources are clearly linked to the Australian Curriculum