Your task is to complete an in-class essay response based on independent research that you have conducted prior to the task. You will be allowed to bring in notes and a reference list to the task. This is partly a take home assessment task. Three (3) lessons of research/work will be provided.
Topic: over the next few weeks in class we will be exploring Caesar's rise to prominence over the Roman Republic. Your research will relate to the period of Caesar's direct leadership of Rome from around 47 BCE until his death in 44 BCE. In order to be prepared for the essay question, you will need to research:
• Caesar's reforms while in power
• The nature of Caesar's leadership including his powers, traits and conduct during this time
• Historians' views and perspectives on Caesar's time in power
Your result will relate to your ability to adequately research and interpret the information that you find and incorporate a selection of both ancient and secondary sources in your final response. An awareness of the limitations of the ancient sources may need to be integrated into your analysis where relevant. Please remember that GOOGLE. REDDIT, AND WIKIPEDIA ARE NOT SYNONYMS FOR RESEARCH. There are excellent books in the School and National Library, as well as print and online journals. many of the ancient texts are available online.
Books on Ancient Rome can be found at 937.
Specific books on Julius Caesar can be found at 937.05092.
Julius Caesar : great dictator of Rome by 
Julius Caesar by 
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome by
Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome, Third Edition provides comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the people, places, events, and ideas of ancient Rome. Each entry has been thoroughly reviewed and updated to fully reflect recent advances in archaeology, historical and literary criticism, and social analysis. In addition, the scope has been expanded to include the entire history of ancient Rome, from the first founding of the city through the legendary hero Aeneas and his descendants Romulus and Remus around 753 BCE to the final collapse of Roman power in the fifth century CE. All of the entries in this updated resource now reflect not only the imperial era, but also the entire course of Roman history.
Empire of Ancient Rome by
The influence of the Roman Empire has been widespread and profound, perhaps more so than that of any other empire or civilization. Rome laid the foundation for many of the institutions and ideas in the modern Western world, including the common political and legal systems. Roman ruins can still be found in distant England, and Roman aqueducts still bring fresh drinking water to modern Rome. Other legacies of the Roman Empire include concrete, pizza, sports arenas, and many English words.
Featuring full-color photographs and maps, summaries of key people and key sites, a chronology, glossary, bibliography, and up-to-date further resources, Empire of Ancient Rome, Third Edition opens with a brief summary of the Roman Empire and provides an account of the world and geographic area in the years leading up to the empire. In an easy-to-follow format, this volume covers the growth of Rome as a republic, the political and social forces that drove the transition to a dictatorship of Caesars, the reasons for Rome's eventual decline, and what happened to the remnants of the empire.
Wheelers eBooks can be found on the college Portal.
Ancient Rome by
From the Colosseum to Hadrian's Wall, Gem Ancient Rome shows us how Rome's vast empire laid the foundations of today's civilisation.
World Book Online is a great starting point and can provide you with an overview of your chosen topic. It can be accessed through the college Portal. Choose World Book Advanced to find the most thorough information.
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary sources, and more.
Access through Infobase Online on the Portal.
These are websites we recommend for this topic. Let us know if you find any more we could add.
Use the topics within this webpage on Romans, or type 'Julius Caesar' in the search bar for more detailed information.
Use your National Library membership to access the online collection of eBooks and journal articles.
If you don't have a card, click on the link below...
